Ritualizing Weigh-In Day

October 5, 2010 at 10:50 AM (LiveFit, WeighIn)

Ever watch The Biggest Loser, and notice that they always do the same thing on Weigh-In day? The guys always wear their shorts, sandals and TBL t-shirts. The women are always in their black shorts, sandals and sports bra in the colour of their team. I imagine it’s always at the same time on the same day each week. This is similar to what I do at home. Always Monday morning, before I eat, after I answer nature’s call. I’m always in pajamas, no shoes. Not always the same pajamas, just what I happened to be wearing the night before to sleep in.

When I went to the doctor, I was in jeans, my sneakers, long sleeved sweater type shirt, I’d already eaten breakfast and snack by that time. So my weight on Wednesday afternoon showed a weight gain of almost 5 pounds, from what I had weighed in at on Monday. Sure enough, my scale at home reflected the same thing. This is why I dislike depending on the doctor’s scale. My appointments are not always at the same time on the same day, so my weight fluctuates. The ONLY number that matters, or should matter to me, is what I see Monday mornings and mail into Jason, the LiveFit Revolution coordinator. He keeps track of weight loss, does a Milestones board, on video every Wednesday, where he has people’s names on big stars and he puts those tags in the appropriate category displaying their total weight loss. (I love this part of the program, btw)

After my doctor’s appointment last week, I had this conversation with my husband about the difference from that day to my weigh in two days prior. He suggested I ritualize purposefully. Rather than just making sure I weigh in before breakfast and after I evacuate, he suggests I choose clothes that I put on JUST for the weigh in. Hang them on a hanger and on Monday morning, right before I step on the scale, change into my ‘special’ clothes. That way I see the clothes on a hanger on the back of the bathroom door throughout the week. I know they are for Monday morning only. and I never ever have the excuse “Maybe my clothes were heavier this week.”  Haha.

I think it’s a great idea, and I may just do that. Plus, maybe it’s an excuse to go shopping for something pretty. 🙂

4 Comments

  1. Angelia said,

    Why don’t you weigh yourself in your birthday suit? That’s what I do.

    • sarianastar said,

      My bathroom is so small I can’t weigh myself in there, and my kitchen window just has a valance, so I’m visible there. Everywhere else is carpeted. 🙂

  2. Chiquita said,

    I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays.

Leave a Reply

