New Year, New Goals

January 3, 2011 at 2:57 PM (Exercise, Goals, LiveFit, Motivation)

Another year has passed, a new one begun. Not just a new year, but a new decade.  What does this mean for you? For me it means a new beginning. A time of renewal. A time to make things new again.  So I changed the appearance of my blog, let’s hope it sticks and doesn’t glitch the way it did when I first created my wordpress blog.

Summary of 2010

I grew another year older. I celebrated another anniversary with my hubby, making it 12 years together. I reconnected with God.  I joined The People’s Church and became heavily involved. I found LiveFit Revolution. My father died at age 80.  I flew to California to help sort out his estate, and got to spend time with my Uncle Tom and Aunt Fern, whom I haven’t seen since I was just a child. My doctor got frustrated with my uncontrolled diabetes. I reconnected with two of my three brothers after my father’s death. I reconnected with many friends from high school, and relatives I haven’t seen in a million years.  I began a life change concerning my health and fitness.

Me, Before and After LiveFit

Me, Before and After LiveFit - And continuing LiveFit

On the left is a photograph taken on my Birthday 2009. I’m pretty sure I was at my heaviest then, a weight of 313 pounds.  On the right, the portrait we had done for Christmas 2010. I weighed 275. 38 pounds difference, and I like seeing the results. It validates all the hard work I’ve put in.  Over Christmas weekend I gained two pounds of that back, putting me at 277. Still, not too shabby, and significantly less than I weighed this time last year. When I think of how quickly this year just flew by, a year really isn’t that long in the scheme of things.

So now is the time I put down my goals, both short and long term, for 2011.

For the year, my goal is to weigh 225 or less. I’d like it to be 200 even, but I know if I set goals too lofty, I will feel overwhelmed and self destruct along the way. 225 gives me 52 pounds to lose. That’s one pound a week. If I can’t lose one pound a week, there’s a problem.

My weekly goal for 2011, is to workout at least 3 times a week each. Twice with kettlebells, and a third workout at the gym or other venue.

I’d like to take some kind of class this year. A fitness class (Zumba, tai chi, aerobics) or a skill class (Knitting, Sign Language, Cake Decorating, Floral arranging). That goes to my goal of getting out more and meeting people off of the internet.

I read something earlier today on my friend Meg’s blog, that really touched my heart.

When in doubt just keep pushing
When in doubt remember how far you’ve come
When in doubt remember why you are here
When in doubt don’t throw in the towel
When in doubt take a moment for self reflection
Don’t doubt the process
Don’t doubt your strength
Be strong
Be resilient
We can do this, one day at a time

This is something that anyone can take motivation and inspiration from, no matter what the struggle. Everything in life worth doing, is worth fighting for. Everything. Your health, your family, your career, your education. None of it is something that you can find success with in one day. Instead, you find success each day, one day at a time, and this is good, strong, sound advice, and I need to print this, write it in giant letters, and paste it all over my house, and be reminded every day that life is not a race, it’s a journey. Enjoy the scenery along the way, and don’t rush to get to the end.

3 Comments

  1. Lisa said,

    Thanks for being such an inspiration Vicky! I love you.

  2. Jenn said,

    One day at a time is the only way to really do anything. Small successes are the key I’ve found. I was delighted when I ran my statuses from 2010 thingie on Facebook because “day” and “today” were the biggest words. Now I could have written “today sucks” a bazillion times but at least I was focusing on that day and not a month from now…6 months from now…6 years from now.

  3. Elaine said,

    Great goals, Vicky! If I lived closer, I could help you learn how to knit!
    Zumba classes sound like a load of fun. My daughter got Zumba DVDs for Christmas last year, and is going to do a class at her college’s gym this semester, which she thinks will be more fun than doing it alone with the DVD.

    Your goal of 50 pounds this year is very attainable. Alysia & Jason has given us great tools to meet our goals. I think we’re both going to have a great year in 2011!

Leave a Reply

