No Excuses

January 25, 2011 at 2:56 PM (Goals, Motivation, Nutrition)

Most of my life I have made excuses. Okay, my entire life I have made excuses. Excuses for why I eat bad. Excuses for why I don’t exercise. Excuses for why I don’t finish things I start. Excuses, not reasons. They are just that, excuses.

At 313 pounds, suffering diabetes, arthritis, tendinitis, carpal tunnel, sleep apnea, exertion induced asthma, high cholesterol, I had to admit… I can’t afford to make excuses anymore.

Healthy food is too expensive.

I can’t afford a gym.

I don’t like to exercise.

I can’t afford a bike.

It hurts to walk.

I don’t feel good.

I don’t want to overdo it.

What have those excuses given me? A world of misery.  I was diagnosed with diabetes in 2004. I’ve heard all my life that there’s no cure for diabetes. However, nobody ever told me that type 2 diabetes is REVERSIBLE. I learned this about four years ago. Four years. What have I done to reverse my diabetes? Nothing. Absolutely NOTHING.

There comes a point in life where you just have to decide to do it.

I’m going to try to eat better.

I’m going to try to exercise more.

I hope I can stick to the plan.

I hope I can avoid junk food.

I will try not to cheat.

Hoping isn’t DOING. Trying isn’t DOING. If we fail to stick to the plan we lay out for ourselves, it’s because we CHOSE not to. God gave us free will. He gave us the ability to make choices and decisions. He gave us the ability to learn, to glean knowledge from everything around us…. what do we do with that? We try. We hope.  Then we make poor decisions and the only person we are hurting with those decisions is OURSELVES.

I put myself in this place. I MADE myself obese. I made choices that got me to where I am now, and my entire life has been a struggle. But now it’s time to fight back.

You have to ask yourself. “Do I want to be healthier?”  And answer honestly. Then ask yourself :  “Is my life worth fighting for?”  Answer honestly.

What’s more expensive? Hospital bills, medication, special equipment just to help you walk, or type, or play that game you love… or healthy food? Sure I could eat from a dollar menu every day, and spend less than 20 bucks for the whole week. While I may save when it comes to my pocketbook, I’m surely not saving when it comes to my long term health. Do I want to live longer? Do I want to die at 50? What’s the better choice?

I hear so many excuses from people, day in and day out… and it frustrates me. Not because I think they’re being dumb, but because those are the excuses I made my entire life. Those excuses got me here, to where I am, and the ONLY way I’m going to get out of this MESS, is to DO it. Not ‘try’, not ‘hope’ that it improves, but to MAKE IT HAPPEN. Only one person in this entire world has control over you. YOU. Do it. Don’t hope for it, don’t ‘try’… just do it. Make a plan, set a budget, decide what you are going to do for YOU.

I know what it’s like to set a goal and not make that goal. I know what it’s like to sit on my tush and do nothing, and think to myself “I really should go and do my workout” and instead I sit at the computer playing games. I know what it is to say “I really should thaw out some chicken, cook some brown rice and steam some veggies for supper.” then go and order a pizza. I did this as recent as last week! It was my choice, and I paid the price. High blood sugar, sluggish feeling, lack of energy and a weight GAIN for my weigh-in on Monday.  My choice.

Do you want to be a healthier you? Then do it. Just do it. Don’t make excuses. Make a plan. Ask for advice from those who have gone before you and succeeded at it. Healthy eating doesn’t have to cost an arm and a leg.  You can eat healthy if you’re willing to work at it. Just… DO it.

Leave a Reply

